Call for 2017 Annual WCSA Award Submissions

The Working-Class Studies Association (WCSA) invites nominations (including self-nominations) for awards covering the year of 2017.

Award categories are:

  • Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: Published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres
  • C.L.R. James Award for Published Books for Academic or General Audiences
  • Russo & Linkon Award for Published Article or Essay for Academic or General Audiences
  • Studs Terkel Award for Media and Journalism: Single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film
  • Constance Coiner Award for Best Dissertation: Completed dissertations only

In all categories, we invite nominations of excellent work that provides insightful and engaging depictions of working-class life, culture, and movements; addresses issues related to the working class; and highlights the voices, experiences, and perspectives of working-class people.

To be eligible, works must have been published (in the case of books or articles) or completed (in the case of films and dissertations) between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017.

To nominate a work for consideration, please send three hard copies with a cover letter, identifying the category in which the work is being nominated and a brief explanation of why it deserves recognition.  Please note: articles and dissertations should be submitted in electronic form.

Nominations are due by January 15, 2018.


Submit nominations to:

Dr. Michele Fazio

Associate Professor of English

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

1 University Drive

Pembroke, NC  28372

For more information and to submit electronic submissions, contact:    Michele Fazio, WCSA Past-President at


Winners will be announced at the 2018 Working-Class Studies Association conference to be held June 6-9, 2018 at the Center for the Study of Inequalities, Social Justice, & Policy at Stony Brook University.  Winners will receive free conference registration and a plaque at the WCSA Annual Awards Ceremony. In addition, a panel session will be reserved in the conference program to feature a discussion of award recipients’ work.  Conference attendance is strongly encouraged.

Details of the awards and past winners can be found here.

Leave a Reply