WSCA Awards

The Working-Class Studies Association issues a set of awards to recognize exemplary new work in our growing field. To date there are seven categories:

The Studs Terkel Awardfor single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film in media and journalism

The Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: for published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres

The C.L.R. James Awardfor published books for academic or general audiences

The Jake Ryan and Charles Sackrey Award: for books by writer(s) of working-class origins that speak to issues of the working-class experience in academia

The Russo & Linkon Award: for published articles or essays for academic or general audiences

The Constance Coiner Awardfor completed dissertations

The Lifetime Achievement Awardfor significant service and contribution to the field

Previous Award Winners

Read about the most recent award winners here, 2022 Awardees

View the record of awardees over time at WCSA Award Winners

Call for Awards

To find out how to make a nomination, head to the Call for Awards

Help us get the word out to recognize new work in our growing field!

*Featured image, Zoritsa Valova, Unsplash.